Coppin State Names Joseph Amoah and Genesis Lucas Athletes of the Year at 2018 Eagles ESPY Awards

| By: Steven Kramer
BALTIMORE, Md. – The Coppin State University Athletic Department held its annual Eagles ESPN Awards on Monday night and Joseph Amoah of the track & field team and women's basketball's Genesis Lucas were named the Department's Male and Female Athletes of the Year.
A sophomore from Greater Accra, Ghana, Amoah received the honor for the second-straight year after setting Coppin school-records in the 60m dash, 100m dash, 200m dash, 4x100m Relay and 4x200m Relay.  Amoah recently won the MEAC Championship in the 100m Dash in school-record 10.20 which ranks in the top 15 nationally.  Earlier this outdoor season, Amoah helped the 4x100m Relay run a 39.73 at the Florida Relays and a 1:24.08 at the Penn Relays.  Amoah also took third in the 200m at the MEAC Outdoor Championship.
Lucas wrapped up her collegiate career by being named First Team All-MEAC for the second-straight season after ranking in the top three in the MEAC in points (16.2), assists (4.2) and steals.  A native of Brandywine, Md., Lucas leaves Coppin State ranked seventh in school-history in points (1,313), second in both assists (460) and 3-pointers (128) and fourth in steals (252).
Jahmon Taylor of the baseball team and Randi Bohler of the track & field team received the President's Eagle Award.  Baseball's Quinn Gleed and Ajla Hrnjic of the women's tennis team received the Scholar-Athlete Awards.  The Male and Female Newcomers of the Year went to Derek Lohr of the baseball team and softball's Nia Bowe.
Additionally, each team announced their sport's Most Valuable Player, Unsung Hero and Most Improved Player awards.
Male Athlete of the Year: Joseph Amoah, Track & Field
Female Athlete of the Year: Genesis Lucas, Baseball
Male President's Eagle: Jahmon Taylor, Baseball
Female President's Eagle: Randi Bohler, Track & Field
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Quinn Gleed, Baseball
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ajla Hrnjic, Tennis
Male Newcomer of the Year: Derek Lohr, Baseball
Female Newcomer of the Year: Nia Bowe, Softball
MVP: Nazier McIlwain
Unsung Hero: Corey Treyes
Most Improved: Caleb Duhay & Delvin McFadden
Men's Basketball
MVP: Karonn Davis
Unsung Hero: Lamar Morgan
Most Improved: Chad Andrews-Fulton
Women's Basketball
MVP: Chance Graham & Genesis Lucas
Unsung Hero: Maraiyah Smith
Most Improved: Oluwadamilola Oloyede
MVP: Nia Turner
Unsung Hero: Erica Monk
Most Improved: Aushia Mclean
Men's Cross Country
MVP: Mark London
Unsung Hero: Anija Addison
Most Improved: Cheyenne Johnson
Women's Cross Country
MVP: Tatiana Ogundeko
Unsung Hero: Lunnise Gibson
Most Improved: Eriell Wallace
MVP: Madison Didion
Unsung Hero: Patricia Soria
Most Improved: Nia Bowe
Men's Tennis
MVP: Jorge Rodriguez Rey
Unsung Hero: Gavin Lewis          
Most Improved: Zaipo Oula
Women's Tennis
MVP: Brittanie Cahua
Unsung Hero: Ajla Hrnjic
Most Improved: Tinashe Gwaze
Men's Track & Field (Indoor)
MVP: Joseph Amoah
Unsung Hero: Martin Owusu-Antwi
Most Improved: Aaron Lewis
Men's Track & Field (Outdoor)
MVP: Aaron Lewis
Unsung Hero: Keshaun Hodges
Most Improved: Babadeji Balogun
Women's Track & Field (Indoor)
MVP: Kristen Deacon
Unsung Hero: Eriell Wallace
Most Improved: Tatiana Ogundeko
Women's Track & Field (Outdoor)
MVP: Randi Bohler
Unsung Hero: Savannah Forte
Most Improved: Alanna Newby
MVP: Glorines Rosado
Unsung Hero: Bailee Jackson
Most Improved: Asia Stennis
Print Friendly Version

Related Stories

Related Videos

Pinterest - Pin It